DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Show off your daily driver desktop...
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Off-topicMessage format
 
Brostenen
Posted 2017-10-05 9:00 PM (#1003)
Subject: Show off your daily driver desktop...



IDT WinChip

Posts: 248
10010025
As the title say... Post a picture of the desktop you have on your daily driver.
First picure is the desktop, modded for my viewing pleasure. Second picture is the command-line/console with a custom background.

Edited by Brostenen 2017-10-05 9:15 PM




(picturetwo.jpg)



(Console.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments picturetwo.jpg (524KB - 50 downloads)
Attachments Console.jpg (105KB - 49 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-10-10 2:19 PM (#1010 - in reply to #1003)
Subject: Re: Show off your daily driver desktop...



Pentium II

Posts: 377
100100100252525
Location: Hull, UK
Sure are a lot of Linux users around here... Anyway, here's the laptop which is what I probably use the most overall;
Uploaded Image
It's a total mess, I don't care.

Also the Xeon;
Uploaded Image
The second monitor, the top right square, is used to either monitor audio or to preview video, it is the only LCD in use here for the purpose of fixing color and such, it lets me see what most everyone else will see as I'm using CRT screens otherwise. Oddly the mouse is really difficult to get up to the second monitor, that overhang is quite large but only a tiny area towards the middle of it can snap the mouse to the other display - and it does snap, as often do windows if dragged over - so who knows what that's about, it isn't a problem going the other way. Equally annoying is how the system keeps deciding that this is Monitor 1 and displaying the POST and Login screens there as well as messing up the desktop icons. This is of minimal concern, however, as the system is rarely turned off anyway.

Traditionally I'd just post a shot of DOS in these threads, but it seems pointless here. I still technically didn't break from my tradition though.

Edited by DXZeff 2017-10-10 2:26 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2017-10-14 12:00 AM (#1011 - in reply to #1010)
Subject: Re: Show off your daily driver desktop...



IDT WinChip

Posts: 248
10010025
DXZeff - 2017-10-10 4:19 PM
Sure are a lot of Linux users around here... Anyway, here's the laptop which is what I probably use the most overall;


Well... I can only speak for my self.
Been using Linux full time, for modern computing, since Feb. the 15'th 2017. (or so does the date stamp on my files say)
Untill I switched, I have been a Windows user, only fiddeling with Linux for the sake of learning it.
Never liked any Windows, post Win7, and as Win7 dies in 2020. I need to be ready for something different.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
kaminishi
Posted 2017-12-13 7:55 PM (#1087 - in reply to #1003)
Subject: Re: Show off your daily driver desktop...


Slow 8088

Posts: 5
0
Location: Hell
Second monitor is enabled only when I use it. This is my first Arch Linux install so its kinda messy.



Edited by kaminishi 2017-12-13 7:56 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2018-01-04 1:38 AM (#1125 - in reply to #1003)
Subject: Re: Show off your daily driver desktop...



Pentium II

Posts: 377
100100100252525
Location: Hull, UK
I just realized, that top picture of the futuristic city, I used to have that one set on the Dell XPS for a while, but changed it to a shot from Blade Runner.

Meanwhile, the C&T machine has a wallpaper set now and has been a 'daily driver' of sorts as it has been played with a lot;
Uploaded Image
They should never have cancelled Farscape, it had at least one series left in it, I swear. Obviously this means the system has swapped names with the Deskpro, I'll think of something for that later. Could go without, really, the C&T doesn't have a NIC as there's no room for one, not a problem as there's nothing too huge to transfer and InterLink is more authentic I guess, that's what you'd have done back then.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2018 PD9 Software