DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Dual 486 Motherboard?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> Hardware (DOS & Windows)Message format
 
waybacktech
Posted 2017-09-29 5:28 PM (#994)
Subject: Dual 486 Motherboard?



IDT WinChip

Posts: 236
10010025
Location: USA
Question. Could this be a dual ( smp ) 486 motherboard? It is said to be an Intel Server Board, clearly has EISA. The form factor of this board also seems like it would be right at home in an ATX case, which is not normally seen in 486 boards, though I have seen a couple very close to an ATX form factor, though seemed too large. This board seems to me to accept 2 processor riser cards, unless 1 card is processor and 1 card is for cache alone, which would seem stupid to me, but stupid happens all the time in computer hardware, but seems like it should take 2 processor boards each with dedicated cache for their processor. Other possibility, again stupid design, 1 slot is for DX/487 and one slot is for 486/SX, Google search just comes up with sites listing this board for sale on ebay, but some do state it is a 486/66 board.

picture - http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/wU4AAOSwrSdZhAar/s-l1600.jpg

ebay listing for photos. - http://www.ebay.com/itm/INTEL-519610-008-486-MOTHERBOARD-PB-519799-...






Edited by waybacktech 2017-09-29 5:29 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Deksor
Posted 2017-09-29 5:35 PM (#995 - in reply to #994)
Subject: Re: Dual 486 Motherboard?


Chips 386

Posts: 34
25
I've got several riser boards for 486s and the person who sold me them said they were coming from a big PS/2 server, so why not ?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-09-30 12:23 AM (#996 - in reply to #995)
Subject: Re: Dual 486 Motherboard?



Pentium II

Posts: 450
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
Went away, thought about it, can't come to a conclusion. It could be, but it also might not be.

As already stated here, stupid is always an option, it is entirely possible the second slot exists for RAM or a Weitek, though the chipset layout at the bottom right of the board makes me suspicious.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-09-30 1:29 AM (#997 - in reply to #996)
Subject: Re: Dual 486 Motherboard?



IDT WinChip

Posts: 236
10010025
Location: USA
probably memory expansion. I've seen another variant similar to this board but without onboard ram slots and figured one slot was memory, so that would make sense in this case as well. Maybe fingering around stason motherboard listings will turn up something. Curiosity if nothing else.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2019 PD9 Software