DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> Hardware (DOS & Windows)Message format
 
RaptorZX3
Posted 2017-06-04 4:59 AM (#677)
Subject: Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs


Slow 8088

Posts: 3
0
For those who like the Pentium 3 procesors, try to keep an eye on those IBM Netvista A40 computers, they can be in tower or desktop configurations.

The Desktop one is actually inside a low-profile-like case with a tiny low-profile network card that goes in the 2nd PCI slot with an extra extension on the slot (regular PCI + extension for that proprietary network card), you can just take the board out and put it inside a MicroATX case.

Since it have an Intel 815 chipset on it, you can use a Pentium 3 Tualatin up to 1.4Ghz, but you might like to use thermal glue + heatsink for the chipset since it would most likely NOT have a heatsink on it.

i have an IBM Netvista A40 "Type 6648" board here, one thing that's annoying and i can't do a thing about it, is everytime i power on, or reboot the computer, the BIOS give me an error that wouldn't appear if i would keep the default CPU on it, so the error is kinda bogus, i just select "exit setup", the computer work just fine and shows the real CPU and speed in CPU-Z, it's just the BIOS being stupid i guess...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-06-04 3:22 PM (#679 - in reply to #677)
Subject: Re: Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs



Pentium II

Posts: 410
100100100100
Location: Hull, UK
Never seen one of these in the wild at all. Government buildings here use either Dell (Offices, Council, Medical, Infrastructure) RM (Education - Primary and below) or Stone (Education - Secondary, Higher, Further) and there are few other places where large numbers of machines are found. Nonetheless, I shall keep my eyes open in case one shows up on the curb or something.

I expect your error is due to missing microcode in the BIOS. I'm not sure how to go about fixing that on a machine like that, as I'd guess IBM used a customized BIOS, but it probably won't cause any problems if you're willing to ignore the message anyway.

Admittedly I have no desire to run Tualatin's myself, I've always been happy with my Coppermines, they were fast enough at 750MHz and now at 1100MHz I can't find any reason to go faster as my Athlon fills that gap nicely. There was also the thing of 815 chipsets having some kind of deliberate crippling over the 440BX (In my case 440GX, basically the same) that I've always wondered about, as in, did it negate any advantage the faster CPUs might have offered... I dunno. Still, worth knowing and welcome to the forum.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
RaptorZX3
Posted 2017-06-05 10:48 PM (#681 - in reply to #677)
Subject: Re: Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs


Slow 8088

Posts: 3
0
The biggest thing is the fact that the Pentium 3-S Tualatin actually have 512kb of L2 cache instead of 256kb.

Edited by RaptorZX3 2017-06-06 1:34 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Loktai
Posted 2017-07-04 12:43 AM (#787 - in reply to #681)
Subject: Re: Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs


Fujitsu 186

Posts: 10
0
I have a P3-500 that I thought had that much cache. unsure. Its in my ibm 300PL

I know there is a pentium3-866 or something like that sitting out in the warehouse someplace. I should go try to take a look at it.
Im pretty sure its a netvista desktop. Im sure nobody will miss it if I take it to play with a bit. There is also a Pentium pro desktop there.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Loktai
Posted 2018-06-23 7:09 PM (#1308 - in reply to #677)
Subject: RE: Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs


Fujitsu 186

Posts: 10
0
So....

I have to say I feel terrible digging up this thread but I have an update. I did end up taking that Pentium III from the warehouse. Unfortunately it seems to have a bad system board as it reboots constantly even
when using different ram, different CPU or removing or disabling certain components, even with nothing in any slots using onboard video etc. Fortunately I WAS able to order another board for $12 USD but it hasnt
arrived yet.

What I can tell you though is that not all A40s are Tualatin compatible. The one I have has the i815 chip but only a stepping A. The Stepping B is required for use with Tualatin and the stepping A can only be used
with the use of a Tualatin adapter (which have become exceedingly rare) and even then its hit or miss depending on the BIOS of the system.

I will keep an eye out for a Netvista board with this i815e or B stepping i815 and see if that crops up but just as a heads up, not all of these A40s are created equal. I do have both an 866 and 1ghz P3 chip to put in there
so I will mess with that for fun, because lets be honest while the Tualatin was a beast and would have dethroned the Athlon T-Bird if it werent out of most peoples price range- the 1ghz coppermine isnt a slouch either
and especially when coupled with a videocard that is newer than the system like say a Geforce 4 ti or a Radeon 9600, 9700 etc it can do some serious gaming. I just happen to have an MX440 and a Geforce 4 ti4400
laying around.... so Ill see where that takes me once the new board arrives.




Edited by Loktai 2018-06-23 7:11 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2018-06-24 10:23 PM (#1310 - in reply to #1308)
Subject: Re: Tualatin fans: Keep an eye for IBM Netvista A40 PCs



Pentium II

Posts: 410
100100100100
Location: Hull, UK
Don't worry about it.

Sounds to me like either the capacitors have gone bad (this would have been just in the era of the 'capacitor plague' after all) or the PSU is going out.
Oddly the subject of Tualatins has been cropping up a lot lately elsewhere, in my case that I have owned or own various boards that are reported to work with them, are even demonstrated working with them, and yet none of mine will. Even with a BIOS update the most I ever got was an Asus board that made burning smells and never came back on.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2018 PD9 Software