DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Recently Played/Bought/Messed with
Jump to page : < ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 ... >
Now viewing page 29 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> General ComputingMessage format
 
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-24 12:47 PM (#1054 - in reply to #1053)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
As to the 386DX 25 from Amibay now it's got here, had to do some changes, the HD was dead on arrival, shame as it's a nice old period correct Seagate ST-1144A drive, now has a Conner 170 Mb drive I've had for years. Also changed the VGA card as the Trident went into mono mode on a warm boot/reset, so fitted a WD Paradise 90C30 512K,almost certainly a better card anyhow despite the Trident being 1MB, and still the same age as the system(1991),and a good use for another item I've had for a long time. finally the seller had removed the serial/parallel I/O card that was shown and listed in the advert without telling me, luckily I had a spare dual port serial card to fit, so have a mouse. So all up and running really well now with my 15 inch CRT. Now I just need a adlib/clone card to finish it off. Even after all that I'm glad I bought the system, not as advertised but has been an easy fix with parts on hand.

Edited by CyrixInstead 2017-11-24 2:00 PM




(386dxnow.jpg)



(st1144a.jpg)



(trident 8900b1.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 386dxnow.jpg (395KB - 122 downloads)
Attachments st1144a.jpg (326KB - 119 downloads)
Attachments trident 8900b1.jpg (263KB - 122 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-24 1:33 PM (#1055 - in reply to #1054)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Here's a pic of the WD paradise I fitted, sorry for the crap quality, i took the image ages ago on a crap camera and don't want to remove the card again now to retake.

Also anyone know where to get the upgrade memory for a reasonable price for this little Realtek card? I know it's basic as can be, and slow as a snail but I might well need to use it in the 386SX build if that Trident 9000 does the same trick of mono on warm boot as the 8900 one I have here now does. And let's be honest, I wouldn't be building a 386sx if speed was a criteria



(WDC 90c30.jpg)



(realtek isa full.jpg)



(realtek main.jpg)



(realtek memory.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments WDC 90c30.jpg (375KB - 120 downloads)
Attachments realtek isa full.jpg (202KB - 140 downloads)
Attachments realtek main.jpg (312KB - 137 downloads)
Attachments realtek memory.jpg (233KB - 120 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-11-24 2:18 PM (#1056 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 461
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
I have some cards which use those, I'll get the part numbers of the chips later so you can look around.

That Trident might respond to SMONITOR from the 9420 drivers I have; https://www.mediafire.com/file/sgdz4ca0sldlqqm/9420.zip
Typing "SMONITOR C" should set it to color if your card works with the utility.


Otherwise, some nice stuff. You're sure the hard drive isn't just seized, or is it making bad noises?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-24 2:55 PM (#1057 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Thanks for the info, the Seagate took a format then was unable to write a directory right at the end. As too noises it sounds just fine, will try it in another machine and see how it fairs.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-24 3:24 PM (#1058 - in reply to #1057)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
@Brostenen

This is the old 1991 Conner 500MB Hard Disk that I was talking about related to your cached controller card. This must have been horrendously expensive in 1991 when it was new, like many Conner drives it's OEM from Compaq(who had a large stake in the company of that era) wonder what it originally fitted? Currently installed in my 386SX 25 IBM PS/1 re-cased into this later case.




(Iconner cp3501.jpg)



(ibm.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Iconner cp3501.jpg (317KB - 129 downloads)
Attachments ibm.jpg (241KB - 125 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2017-11-24 4:00 PM (#1059 - in reply to #1058)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 387
100100100252525
#CyrixInstead
Nice harddrive, that Conner. How many RPM's is it running with? My guess is eighter some 3600 or 4500. Regarding the Controller, then I have tried the 540mb Quantum Maverick. The speed is raised from 700kb/s to just under 1500kb/s for the cached transfer rate. Standard transfer rate are still 700kb/s. My guess, is that the cached controller is for some sort of workstation machine. The install/tools suite has a program were you can force writing of cached data to prevent data loss. I guess it can be used, when you want to shut down the machine in a safe way, if you are working with AutoCad or something like that.

The problem with my dx33 build, is that it sometimes lower the speed on CF cards (a bit unstable) and the Goldstar 8x speed cdrom drive will not work on it. I have decided to use just the CF card on a standard controller alongside the optical drive.

Nice 386 board... Looks much like the 486 board I have traded for. I am using that for my dx33 ISA-Only build, and they are both somewhat the same as my first computer, wich funny enough, was one that I bought in 93 as well. That was an 486slc2-50 system, with ET4000 and 4mb of ram.

As soon as I recieve the rechargeable 3.6volt coincell battery that I have ordered, I will build it and post the finished machine here on the forum. I see that you do not have a battery on your's as well. Do you want a link for the one that I bought?

Edited by Brostenen 2017-11-24 4:04 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2017-11-25 10:43 AM (#1060 - in reply to #1059)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 387
100100100252525
I did some tests on that Cached Promise controller yesterday, stacking it up against a standard Winbond ISA controller. For the test, I used Speedsys and 270mb 3600rpm Quantum Maverick Prodrive. Keeping the RPM's low, should in theory and in my mind, make the Cached controller somehow boost the drive. Ohh boy, was I wrong. I got the exact same kind of results when using a 3600rpm drive, as well as I got with a 4200rpm, 5400rpm and 7200rpm drives. As well as a CF card and a DOM module. Namely that the controller degrades the performance of storage, compared to a non cached standard ISA IDE controller.

The question is why? And as I have no means of testing out on WindowsNT 4.0 or 3.51. I have no freaking clue, if the Promise DC99 Cached ISA controller in reality is meant for NT or what the true purpouse of this card is.

I have included 3 pictures:

#1: Standard Winbond NON-Cached.
#2: Promise DC99 Cached Controller with 2.5mb cache (512k onboard + 2mb 30pin modules)
#3: For the laughs of it, Winbond Controller with 512mb Transcend CF card.

The computer setup, that I used for it. Was the following:

- ISA Only Socket 3 motherboard, with 256kb 15ns Cache
- Intel 486dx33 CPU
- 16mb 60ns 72pin EDO Memory
- Tseng ET4000
- Winbond and Promise DC99 Controllers
- 270mb 3600rpm Quantum Maverick ProDrive

As you all can see. The results for the Cached Controller is grimm.... I would have liked to see better results.
So I will keep to the CF card on the Winbond controller, for my dx33 build. A shame. The promise card just looks awesomme.
Yet with the fact that it does not provide compatibility with the Goldstar CD-Rom drive. I see no use for the Promise.

Can anyone give any example of were exactly this controller was introduced? What type of Computer is it meant for?



Edited by Brostenen 2017-11-25 10:50 AM




(NonCachedController.jpg)



(WithCachedController.jpg)



(NonCached-CF-Card.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments NonCachedController.jpg (629KB - 138 downloads)
Attachments WithCachedController.jpg (562KB - 140 downloads)
Attachments NonCached-CF-Card.jpg (588KB - 140 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-11-27 7:35 PM (#1062 - in reply to #1060)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
@Brostenen

Interesting results with the cache controller. I would have expected it to show a boost, though I really am not all that surprised from the results. The controller I have works really nice, but I have never benchmarked it to see what the actual performance is. What I noticed about mine was it cached the boot portion of the hard drive as well as Windows 3.11 into its ram. I realized this after a couple reboots and noticing there was no hard drive access, behaving like it was an SSD. It didn't feel like it was a huge difference but I did notice a bit of a bump in getting into windows.

I would think random read/write cycles would probably slow down the cache controller because it is having to cache and clear that data into the ram on the card before it gets pushed off to the cpu, or hard drive, depending on which way the data is going, if that makes sense, and the cpu on the controller is probably where the bottle neck is in performing that operation.

These cards I think were just sold as a way to boost the computer performance by boosting the hard drive's performance. Probably more gimmick than anything, though I would imagine they probably could help prolong a hard drives life.

You might try running the benchmark in Config and see what it's numbers for the disk access says to compare with speedsys.

Edited by waybacktech 2017-11-27 7:51 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-29 1:02 PM (#1064 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Do you folks think this is the right upgrade RAM for the Realtek ISA card I posted about above?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HY51C4256S10-Integrated-Circuit-CASE-DIP2...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-29 3:24 PM (#1065 - in reply to #1064)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Got this OAK ISA VGA from ebay, nice enough little card, but it also looks like I can rob some of the upgrade RAM from it for the Realtek and still use it as a 512K card. Was about the same price as just buying those two memory chips for the realtek.
Also bought a copy of Masters of Doom by David Kushner, first computer related book I've bought in ages, here's the good reads crap.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/222146.Masters_of_Doom

Was only £3 inc postage.

Edited by CyrixInstead 2017-11-29 3:43 PM




(oak 1mb isa.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments oak 1mb isa.jpg (335KB - 130 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-11-29 5:11 PM (#1066 - in reply to #1065)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
Either should work on that card, I would think anyway. I think that is a really high price for DRAM chips so finding even dead cards that you can swipe the memory from would be something i'd be keeping an eye our for personally. Gold scrap lots are always a great place to look for cheap parts.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-11-29 5:22 PM (#1067 - in reply to #1066)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
I picked one of these up over the weekend after seeing Techmoan's review of one. I got the better version of what he was reviewing. I hadn't even heard of these before. Anyway this particular one is sold out now. I've got a Namco token from back in the day when I last went to the Arcade in town, long closed now. So I will be velcroing it to the Coin button. I think I will buy another coin for the other button later on. Suppose to arrive tomorrow ( Thursday )

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B075WT8BNV/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o...



Edited by waybacktech 2017-11-29 5:24 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-11-29 5:48 PM (#1068 - in reply to #1067)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Gold scrap auctions don't seem as prevalent here in the UK. And that was the only listing on ebay UK for the RAM type. Anyhow, it's another old VGA to play with(even at that it's coming from Bulgaria).
Arcade thingy looks fun, reminds me of this that a friend brought back for me back in the summer from South Korea, it's pretty cool, tons of games and good screen,rechargeable battery and TV out, it cost $6 US over there!
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Portable-Player-Bundle-handhold-Discoball%C...
I'm not really a console gamer, but it was nice as a gift

Edited by CyrixInstead 2017-11-29 5:50 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-11-29 10:46 PM (#1070 - in reply to #1068)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
I've nearly bought one of those PXP3 things before. There are a ton of handheld gaming devices on Amazon. This is one I've been looking at. There is a 4.3" screen version of this but it only saves about $10. There are some small 2.5" screen ones for $15 with mostly nes/snes games loaded. I like this one though because of the ability to add roms, along with the hdmi output in case I want to play on a bigger screen. - https://www.amazon.com/Handheld-Consoles-Classic-Portable-Christmas-...

Something like this should work fine as well for that video card - https://www.ebay.com/itm/5PCS-HM514256AP-10-Encapsulation-DIP-20-x4-...

You are needing just basic DIP20 DRAM, FPM. Brand really shouldn't matter. There might be cheaper options than the one I've listed but it's just an idea.

Edited by waybacktech 2017-11-29 10:51 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-12-01 6:38 PM (#1072 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
The 386sx 33, trident and I/O card arrived today from the Ukraine, 4 1/2 days is very impressive, better than most stuff manages here just internally. All works as advertised no messing around. It goes pretty well too, a good bit faster than my DX25 even though that has cache, a nicer VGA etc. Must be later chipset, amazing how it's been miniaturized in just a few years, the DX has a ton of chips, the sx just one. The best news is however I got the Seagate ST1144A hard disk(from the dx25) working with the sx, I'm wondering whether it just needed to warm up naturally to room temp after transit from Slovenia. Anyhow it matters not, it's happily running as I type this. And the Conner 170 is happy in the DX.

@Brostenen Yes, having the link to the external CMOS battery you purchased would be a big help, I could use a spare for the DX too as I don't have the slightest idea how old it is.

@DXZeff Will have to give that SMONITOR file a try as this Trident is doing the same mono trick in warm boot as the other one, I'm certain my original one didn't do this back when new? I'm using a CRT, so it's not some LCD issue.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-12-01 9:13 PM (#1073 - in reply to #1072)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 461
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
The VGA pinout actually changed over time, so perhaps that is related to this issue as it seems less common on later Trident cards, especially once they went over to PCI. I suppose, in theory, you could connect Pin 4 + Pin 11 to ground permanently and maybe disconnect Pin 12, though I wouldn't entirely recommend doing this as if your card doesn't use that older pinout, it might case bad things to happen.

Sorry I still haven't had a chance to get those part numbers, though indeed, any equivalent RAM will work, it's just hard to find now, at least for me, as the places selling it often only list the model number and not its function.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2017-12-02 12:37 PM (#1074 - in reply to #1073)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 387
100100100252525
#WaybackTech:
Yeaa... Those results are strange to me as well. Going to keep the card anyway, despite not having any use for it at the moment.
Perhaps later, down the road, I will find good use for it. The biggest plus of this card, is that the tools can detect drive geometry.
That without the drive even have been set up in the main BIOS. At least it is better at something. :-D

#CyrixInstead:
Well... I recieved the rechargeable coincell battery yesterday. In the next week or so, I will solder it to that board it is bought for. :-)

#DXZeff:
Because they changed the pinout, is that perhaps why I can not use an LCD that has auto sleep mode?
I mean... When I run my ET4000 without something that has a continious voltage on the vga output, the monitor will go to sleep.
Yet, when I run the vga signal through one of those VGA splitter boxes that has a dedicated powersupply, the monitor will not
go into sleep mode at any time.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-12-04 2:27 AM (#1075 - in reply to #1074)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 461
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
Uploaded Image
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-12-04 6:25 AM (#1076 - in reply to #1075)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Wow! I remember reading about those on I think the OS/2 Museum website. Can't remember does it require a special motherboard? Very cool anyhow

Edit:

found the links to the Chips Super 386, interesting stuff.

http://www.os2museum.com/wp/the-forgotten-386/

http://www.os2museum.com/wp/more-on-the-ct-super386/

I sorted the COMS battery on the 386SX in a really simple(maybe even half assed) way, plug and wire off an old PC speaker, CR2032 battery and insulation tape! Works fine, so no more messing around there. Build is done until the OAK gets here & I swap that with the Trident. Oddly the old Realtek won't work in the SX board, monitor lights up briefly and then shuts off, never gets to a picture of any kind, weird.



Edited by CyrixInstead 2017-12-04 7:22 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-12-04 4:26 PM (#1077 - in reply to #1075)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
Well that should be interesting. Seeing one of those I would have just thought it to be another rebranded Cyrix chip. The claim of 10% faster than Chipzilla will be interesting to see if actually true. I'd still like to play with a pair of Intel RapidCAD chips.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-12-08 3:02 PM (#1078 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
SoundBlaster 2.0 CT1350B, perfect for one of my 386 machines, not decided sx or dx yet.



(SoundBlaster 1350B.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments SoundBlaster 1350B.jpg (210KB - 105 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2017-12-08 6:09 PM (#1079 - in reply to #1078)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Think I will go with this card for the DX and the SB in the SX, more ram in the DX to handle Windows 3.1 and the TSR this card needs for SB compatibility.



(wssisa.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments wssisa.jpg (315KB - 107 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2017-12-08 7:55 PM (#1080 - in reply to #1079)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
Hmm, a Microsoft Windows Soundsystem card.... now that is some interesting stuff there. I have to admit, I never saw one of these before, only seen the name. I did setup a long time ago, in a galaxy far far away... the Microsoft sound system that was the USB speakers with a DAC built in. Those worked quite well I thought. I like AD sound chips for ISA sound cards so I would imagine this one would be pretty good.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2017-12-10 9:01 PM (#1081 - in reply to #1080)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 387
100100100252525
#CyrixInstead:
Great purchases you got there. They are nice cards. Never ever played with those two cards, not even back when they were new.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2017-12-11 9:23 AM (#1082 - in reply to #1081)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 461
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
@CyrixInstead; Apparently this model doesn't need a special board, that'd be the J38605DX which has cache.
You're not alone in using those cables for batteries.
Windows Sound System, what an oddball thing that is. There have been a few opportunities for to have had one over the years, but I've never quite brought myself to actually get one due to lack of a good enough excuse and haven't seen one in real life. Do let me know how you get along with it.

@WaybackTech; That advantage will supposedly fall apart once it tries to communicate with an FPU, though history suggests the internet can't always be trusted with more obscure processors. RapidCAD chips are just weird, what with the whole dummy FPU thing.

@Brostenen; Somehow forgot to add lto my last post; I guess hooking the CD-ROM drive up to the same card as the hard drive wasn't so common at the time, there are some that can't see them properly or at all. The whole cached controller coming in slower, though, that's not what I'd expect at all, it's not missing a TSR or something is it? Could swear I've run into SCSI controllers like that before, you'd think the card's BIOS would handle it, but perhaps not.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : < ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 ... >
Now viewing page 29 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2019 PD9 Software