DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Recently Played/Bought/Messed with
Jump to page : < ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... >
Now viewing page 50 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> General ComputingMessage format
 
DXZeff
Posted 2020-01-28 7:33 AM (#1780 - in reply to #1775)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
Stripped down my new 79cc engine because it wasn't working properly despite long hours spent trying to fix it and replacing most of the parts. It wasn't pretty.


The plug is evidence of a rich condition I induced deliberately to try and prevent the engine from overheating, but the overheating didn't go away. Sucks because changing jets and trying to dial in the right one was a pain in the ass.


The cylinder walls are stained and have weird blemishes around the transfer ports, this is likely due to the constant overheating, the fact that the staining gets worse around the exhaust port further suggests this as carbon buildup is usually both even and only happens to the top of the piston and cylinder head, as the piston rings will usually sweep such things off of the walls as with my 66cc engine.


Despite claims of larger surface area, it appears that there is actually less compared to the 66cc China model, which would explain the overheating as said China motor will constantly skirt the edges of running too hot when pulling heavy trailers for a long time, but it does require being abused that way whereas the 79cc motor just overheats and starts dieseling after a few minutes of light use.
To add further annoyance the crank case is just slightly off from the 66cc model, so I can't simply throw in a 47mm piston and bolt an appropriate jug on top, the whole engine will have to be replaced now with not a single piece being useful. Doubt it even clocked up 30 miles in the short time it was around, now the poor old one will have to drag it along to the scrap bin.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tedster
Posted 2020-01-28 3:11 PM (#1784 - in reply to #1780)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD 5k86

Posts: 130
10025
That's a shame, at one time you could have had a shot at maybe getting an engineering shop to sleeve the barrel.
With a thicker head gasket to reduce the compression and thus heat, a bit.
I don't think such things exist anymore, since they forced us to live on a diet of chinesium.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2020-01-28 5:52 PM (#1785 - in reply to #1688)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 79
252525
Location: UK
The factory hone(if you can call it that!) doesn't even look like it's started to be taken off the bore, obviously no miles at all, frankly the casting looks dreadful, fin area is tiny too, makes all the difference when airflow is going to be low at the speeds a bicycle will run at, I'd say that stood very little chance from the beginning.
If it was me I think I'd buy a Honda C90(or pull one out of the local canal!)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-01-28 7:02 PM (#1786 - in reply to #1785)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
Wouldn't be able to fit a new head on this, it's a single piece cylinder. This model is pretty much brand new and nobody carries parts for it anyway.

Yeah, very little mileage on this motor but definite signs of an impending failure inside, like how a part of the lower piston ring is somehow missing, possibly due to how upon further inspection a lot of lateral play apparently developed in the rod, though whether the piston skirt hit that first and caused this play, or the play began and caused the impact is unknown, it does explain those horrible slapping noises I was hearing though. Some would argue I should have persisted until break in was complete, but I don't think it would have lasted that long and doubt it would have ever approached the 30MPH mark that it is supposed to, not if it's going to break its own internal organs like that.

A brief view of it running and a couple of clips with the old one for comparison. Camera focus changes to the engine for the last five minutes, just skip there if you wanna hear how it ran.

They'd never let me have something like a C90 and they don't exactly lend themselves to mounting trailers on.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tedster
Posted 2020-01-28 9:30 PM (#1787 - in reply to #1786)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD 5k86

Posts: 130
10025
I'm amazed you can even ride that on our roads without getting your collar felt!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tedster
Posted 2020-01-28 10:08 PM (#1789 - in reply to #1787)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD 5k86

Posts: 130
10025
Snagged one of these today....

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01H1U6PRS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_...

So I can just eject my SSD, easy like, for rapid imaging.

Seeing how often I break it, that is a good thing!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-01-31 12:07 AM (#1791 - in reply to #1789)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
I found a treasure of information.... Byte magazine from 1975 to 1998.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-02-01 8:22 PM (#1792 - in reply to #1791)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
Tracked down a problem with the C&T freezing that I thought was the motherboard, it turned out to be a thermal issue related to the capture card. Added a heatsink and recapped it, heatsink didn't fit the case so now I have an L-shaped one that touches the outer case cover. The system still freezes, but I'm confident the issue lies in this card, my suspicion being that even though interfacing to the case kept the heatsink below 40°C, the gates in the 7805/7808 packages maybe break away from the metal piece with time. I've had several 7805s insist on running hot regardless of heatsinking as they get old and also had 2N4922's split apart in a way that suggests this, the temp I measure is well within tolerance but if the gate inside isn't touching the metal, the internal temp could be much higher. Will replace them when I can be bothered, for now I'll just run without the VideoSurge.


- Note, this is an example of larger caps being used. These are just power filter caps, so as I had no 100µF 16V ones to hand, I used these 2200µF 25V ones as they had the same footprint. I did, however, have to scavenge a 100µF for a resonant circuit elsewhere on the card. In theory the power should be even smoother on the card than it ever was previously, thus lending further credibility to the linear regs being at fault if the hours of testing didn't already pretty much yell this out loud.

Edited by DXZeff 2020-02-01 8:23 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tedster
Posted 2020-02-02 12:19 PM (#1793 - in reply to #1792)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD 5k86

Posts: 130
10025
What about sticking some little vga memory heatsinks on those mosfets?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-02-02 12:41 PM (#1794 - in reply to #1793)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
The plastic side isn't much of a thermal interface, the metal piece on the bottom is, they'll be well within the 150°C tolerance once they're replaced anyway. Can't imagine such failures are going to happen any less as these things run up on their third decade of operation.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-03 4:01 PM (#1795 - in reply to #1794)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
#DXZeff
Strange all them problems you have with that engine. I guess those china-dudes make ingeniering faults.

As for me. I bought something that I have wanted for a couple of years now.
It is an accelerator for my Amiga600 and an silent active fan, to make sure it is running cold enough.
It has a maprom, so I can use my Kickstart 3.1.4 or other roms out there for testing.
Finally I am also going to use the complete setup as a Mac and Atari emulator.

Furia-020
Active cooler

Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-02-06 9:04 PM (#1797 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
A friend of mine with a rather stupid hairdo got himself a new toy and said my T6600C was for dorks (He also said Amiga was for dweebs or something but I wasn't really listening to him).



This portable uses standard AT motherboards, might change it out for something really unusual.

Edited by DXZeff 2020-02-06 9:05 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-06 10:38 PM (#1798 - in reply to #1797)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
#DXZeff
Yeah.... Do not trust someone like that. Also... What the heck is that wonderfull toy? Those cards!!! Looks amazing, and what is it?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-02-07 12:33 AM (#1799 - in reply to #1798)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
It is an Inet Spectra, it uses a TMC AI5TH motherboard (430HX) with a Pentium MMX 233. I don't know how the LCD hooks up to whatever video card it has, would be nifty if it just leeched the feature connector.

The system was sold as a protocol analyzer / packet sniffer, those cards are for that. The hard drive won't be included, accessories for the cards are missing and the odds of ever using them are basically zero, those won't be staying.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tedster
Posted 2020-02-07 9:34 AM (#1800 - in reply to #1799)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD 5k86

Posts: 130
10025
It'd be a hit at lan parties running win 9x.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-02-07 11:02 AM (#1801 - in reply to #1800)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
I suppose, but you'd still have to bring a monitor with you if you actually wanted to use it for anything serious at one because that's an LCD in the front, not a CRT or Plasma like older portables. I have other plans for it.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-09 6:25 PM (#1802 - in reply to #1801)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
Not bought....
Was given to me, as my birthday present. Plus a StarWars T-Shirt with autograph's (printed, not signed) and some other clothes.
Yes... I turned 44 the 5'th of Feb. Anyway... Here is the beast. I have not played with it yet.





(TheC64-01.jpg)



(TheC64-02.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments TheC64-01.jpg (437KB - 38 downloads)
Attachments TheC64-02.jpg (404KB - 42 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tedster
Posted 2020-02-09 8:20 PM (#1803 - in reply to #1802)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD 5k86

Posts: 130
10025
Oh nice one and belated happy Birthday to you!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-09 9:32 PM (#1804 - in reply to #1803)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
tedster - 2020-02-09 10:20 PM

Oh nice one and belated happy Birthday to you!


Thanks...
As my son, have birthday 7 days before me (28'rh Jan.), then we held his birthday party this weekend. He is living with his mother, and he got his real birthday party that day at home. My real birthday, was held when I visited my children at their mothers place, and I made them a cake. I simply hate, when someone throws me a party on my birthday.

The cake we had this weekend, was two of these cakes in layer. Spungy cake with different type of cream in between.

The first was a strawberry one. Whipped cream in both layers. The bottom layer had cubes of fresh strawberry and the top layer with dark chokolate. Then red frosting on top and slices with fresh strawberry. Sour and fresh.

The second one, was vanilla custard cream on both layers. Bottom layer with slices of bananna, and top layer with dark chokolate. Then blue frosting on top. Finally, I made a mix of whipped cream and vanilla custard cream, for people to add what they wanted on top of the piece of cake they took.

Yes.... It is a VIC-20 and a C64 recreation, full size and with working keyboard. It can boot into carosel mode or basic screen. It can load games from a USB Device. And if I get a 9-pin to USB adaptor, then I can use old 80's joysticks as well. The menu can be controlled from the keyboard. So looking forward to play some 1942, Super Cycle or Winter games on the bloody thing. My son loves PacMan. So I will be having that on a USB key as well. I can warmhearted recommend Atari's version of PacMan. It is extremely well made and totally awesomme.

Edited by Brostenen 2020-02-09 9:33 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-14 8:15 AM (#1805 - in reply to #1804)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
Playing with my new Furia-020 for my Amiga600. It has become quite the beast, my little Amiga600.
It is a well done accelerator. I can lift the entire machine, with everything in the picture, by grabbing the accelerator it self.
The machine have been recapped, and I have installed one of those meanwell PSU's in an A500-PSU-Case.
I think the machine is ready for the next 10 years. The active fan is an aftermarket one. Near silent or noiseless if you like.

Edited by Brostenen 2020-02-14 8:19 AM




(Furia.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Furia.jpg (531KB - 42 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-15 10:01 PM (#1806 - in reply to #1805)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
Testing Furia accelerator today...

Stock Amiga600 IDE transfer speed is 600 to 700 kilobyte/s yet with the Furia it boost up to 2480 kilobyte/s. That is with Fast-IDE option enabled. With the option disabled, I "only" get some 2300 to 2350 kilobyte/s in transfer speed. Well worth the money spend I would say.

Tomorrow, I will have a small look at the MapRom function, or the ShadowRom function. I will let tomorrow decide what to test.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2020-02-17 10:02 PM (#1807 - in reply to #1806)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



TM Crusoe

Posts: 521
500
Location: Hull, UK
Nothing major here, weather has been crap. That portable is here though and it does work, however the AI5TH's Dallas chip can't be modded due to its placement, so I'll probably just put my P5TX in there or else convert it to that weird Socket 4 LB board I have just for the 'clown car' factor.

VGA card can't be changed because the LCD controller is built-in, it's a C&T 65548, a couple of models off of what my Satellite 410CDT uses. It is a PCI card though, so it can be carried over to any board.
Suppose I could be super weird and put that AT Socket 370 board in there, but it would seem a bit of a waste.


Otherwise, trying to get video stuff done. Progress is slow, workstation is still being a bitch, looking to move to the Xeon W-2200 platform in a few months.

Edited by DXZeff 2020-02-17 10:03 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-18 12:43 AM (#1808 - in reply to #1807)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
Now that I have that upgraded Amiga600, then I have begun investigating emulation of MacOS (classic) on the darn thing. I am curious on how to do it and how fast it will be. What classic 90's mac it will be emulating and how realy 90's Mac software will run on it. Not that I have ever had the opertunity to play with those old Mac's. It is more like, why not test that out as well, for the sake of playing around. And if it will run a version of MS Office and Prince of persia. Then I am all happy and stuff. Those old Mac's did not have more than 80mb HDD anyway, so I think my 4gb HDD in the machine, will do just fine at that.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2020-02-19 1:57 PM (#1809 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 79
252525
Location: UK
@Brostenen

Does that C64 clone do Commodore 16/Plus 4 as well? Will it work with a C2N or 1531 or version of to load original tapes? How does the VIC-20 support work as far as memory expansion goes? Can you save games on it such as Elite etc or is it read only?
As to Macintosh support on your Amiga A600 I'd make a guess it'd do Macintosh LC, perhaps even Macintosh II but not sure on that as it was quite a bit more advanced despite being older system.
I really should sort out my Centris 660 A/V at some point, had it since new but not been used in at least 2 decades, will have to wait till I'm back in the UK again, and by then I'm sure to have forgotten!

Edited by CyrixInstead 2020-02-19 2:01 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2020-02-19 9:32 PM (#1810 - in reply to #1809)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 478
100100100100252525
CyrixInstead - 2020-02-19 3:57 PM
Does that C64 clone do Commodore 16/Plus 4 as well?

Nope... It is C64 and Vic-20 only. I have not dived into Vic-20 emulation on the thing yet, only had the basic screen and wrote the usual:

10 PRINT "I looooooove Gooooold"
20 GOTO 10
RUN

:-D



Will it work with a C2N or 1531 or version of to load original tapes? How does the VIC-20 support work as far as memory expansion goes?

It contains a SBC machine, emulating a computer with a tiny Linux kernel and then Vice. So the ports are USB only.
Though I have read a post on TheC64 Community, that the firmware can be made to run on a specific OrangePI board.
So no old ports and stuff. For that you can always get one of them C64-Reloaded MK2 boards.



Can you save games on it such as Elite etc or is it read only?

I have not tried yet. If it is possible, then you might be able to save on the USB Pen, if you run from that.



As to Macintosh support on your Amiga A600 I'd make a guess it'd do Macintosh LC, perhaps even Macintosh II but not sure on that as it was quite a bit more advanced despite being older system.

Cool...
Mac-LC are good enough as a start. As long as it can run Prince Of Persia, MS Office and stuff like that, then I am a happy enough.


Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : < ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... >
Now viewing page 50 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2020 PD9 Software