DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Recently Played/Bought/Messed with
Jump to page : < ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 >
Now viewing page 46 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> General ComputingMessage format
 
GlitchHiker
Posted 2019-05-23 7:00 PM (#1621 - in reply to #1619)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with


Harris 286

Posts: 20
0
Brostenen - 2019-05-21 2:18 AM

The last thing is rotation speed. The Amiga operates at different rotation speed, yet some 95% of all software will run anyway.
Most that will not run due to different speed are Demo's and stuff that are specially coded.

I think that a Gotek will set you back some 25 British pounds.
A real Amiga Floppy disk drive will set you back some 30 to 35 British pounds.
And a PC-To-Amiga mod-cable will cost you some 13/14 British pounds (and you need a new eject button)

Looking at those prices, it is kind of a no-brainer that if money is of no issue, and you want it pure, then go for original drive.
If you do not really care, and are after something that will work longer than the next 10 years, then go for Gotek on Amiga.
If you just want a real drive, yet authentisity are of no real issue, then get that cable and a eject button. Plenty of PC drives out there.


IIRC the Escom A1200s have that speed problem. So I would think at least late A1200 games tried to avoid doing anything speed critical.

Also recall the Amiga drives never really got very cheap, though really there was a bit of a singularity where PC drives got commodity bulk cheap from the mid 90s, go back a couple of years from there they were 50 quid, mid 80s 200 quid.

--- --- --- --- --- ---

Still dinking with that Contura, no actual news still scratching my head/arse avoiding putting anydrive on it until I've tried everything else I can think of. Will update when something actually achieved

Did some impulse buys at the thrift store today, not really very vintage. Snagged a NEC Accusync LCD72VX because I thought, "hey, that should be nice, didn't come free with an eMachine" and a Thinkcenter M57 SFF doorstop.

So far, I am liking the accusync, I took a wild guess when I bought it that it should do a fair range of frequencies, and was a better class model. Haven't managed to trip it up yet, dooms mode X elite CGA elite plus EGA, VGA, MCGA... everything so far seems to scale pretty cleanly. Response time seems great, no motion blurring. it's a little on the dim side, not super bright, but fairly vivid for all that. i had it pegged as a monitor that would play nice with older boxes and looks like I'm right so far.

The Thinkcenter appealed because it's an inconspicuous box that should take a quad and be alright for an office/surfer for my wife. There's a Dull Optipox struggling to still do that, maxed out with a dual core and 2GB of RAM... it's one of those bastards that will take 4G of RAM and non W7 compatible graphics or anything slightly decent and only 2G, memory map is a mess, won't do 64 bit either. It was a model brought in with P4s I guess, so getting a C2D in it was a minor miracle, but it's been annoying for a couple of years. Slap spare SSD for OS in this Thinkcenter, quad, and 4 to 8 GB and it will feel like a rocket ship.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-05-23 8:25 PM (#1622 - in reply to #1621)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
GlitchHiker - 2019-05-23 9:00 PM
IIRC the Escom A1200s have that speed problem.


True.... One of the reason, why a few software titles (aprox 5%) had issues on Escom models. Yet that can be overcome, by doing the reverse mod. More or less, just removing a wire or something.

Edited by Brostenen 2019-05-23 8:30 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-05-24 4:44 PM (#1623 - in reply to #1622)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
Testing a GeodeNX 1500+ CPU that I recieved in the mail some time ago. I can't really tell by the feel and how it is operating, if this was a fast P3 system or an low speed Athlon. One thing is clearly noticeable, and that is the lack of heat produced by the low power consuming CPU. It never reaches above 32 degree Celcius when I run something, reboot and check temperature in the BIOS. And the cooler just seems cold all the time. In idle, it is running at 27 degree celcius and reaches 28 within 20 minutes after powered on. And this is when I set the cooler for running at lowest RPM.

Test setup:
- Asrock K7S41 (not the GX version, wich sucks compared to K7S41)
- GeodeNX 1500+
- 512mb Ram
- NorthQ all copper CPU Cooler. (with a manual RPM dongle)
- Some non interresting Radeon9600se Card.
- Floppy. DVD-Drive and 40gb ATA-133 HDD.
- Windows98se as the OS.




(GeodeNX-1500-01.jpg)



(GeodeNX-1500-02.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments GeodeNX-1500-01.jpg (560KB - 27 downloads)
Attachments GeodeNX-1500-02.jpg (474KB - 23 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-05-26 8:35 PM (#1624 - in reply to #1623)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
Yesterday, I was at the local carnival.... A bit cold, yet perfect for beer without getting too drunk.

Today I did some more testing with my K7s41 setup. I tried it with an GF4-ti4200 and then various soundcards. SB-Live, SB-Pci128 and YMF-724. And just to see what Dos-games compatibility this setup have. Doom are more or less the only one that are compatible in regards to sound. And it was only with an YMF-724 that I got any Dos-sound. Sooo..... This setup is for a pure Win98 gaming setup, that are extremely lownoise.


Edited by Brostenen 2019-05-26 8:36 PM




(GeodeNX -YMF724.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments GeodeNX -YMF724.jpg (692KB - 19 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-05-28 11:20 PM (#1625 - in reply to #1624)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
Uploaded Image

Unfortunately paperweight because the drivers are on floppies and the software disk is dead.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-05-30 12:09 AM (#1626 - in reply to #1625)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
DXZeff - 2019-05-29 1:20 AM

Uploaded Image

Unfortunately paperweight because the drivers are on floppies and the software disk is dead.


Holy crap.... That looks sweet. VLB right? Not any funky lesser known / lesser used bus type?
If the card is like my ET4000 PCI, then it will still work as a standalone ET4000.
Now you must find them drivers somewere. At least untill then, you have a card that can be used as VGA.
(if it will work as normal card, that is)

I am actually a bit jelaous...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-06-02 10:07 PM (#1627 - in reply to #1626)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
We managed to recover the files, help mainly from Deksor and edniel, the card seems to work - actually the VGA side uses the standard ET4000 driver and the capture side is purely software controlled. The setup is actually somewhat unique as no keying, analog or digital, seems to be used.

If it makes you feel any better I also have one of these, but it's not as good. It is faster than the PCI version in VGA stuff of course, but it doesn't like the VL-bus running anywhere other than 33MHz.
Uploaded Image

Edited by DXZeff 2019-06-02 10:09 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-06-03 8:19 PM (#1628 - in reply to #1627)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
DXZeff - 2019-06-03 12:07 AM

We managed to recover the files, help mainly from Deksor and edniel, the card seems to work - actually the VGA side uses the standard ET4000 driver and the capture side is purely software controlled. The setup is actually somewhat unique as no keying, analog or digital, seems to be used.

If it makes you feel any better I also have one of these, but it's not as good. It is faster than the PCI version in VGA stuff of course, but it doesn't like the VL-bus running anywhere other than 33MHz.
Uploaded Image


Cool... Although I have no need for such technology (I really do not capture or edit any video) then I find these technologies fascinating. Heck. I even have one of them ISA based Creative VideoBlaster MP400 cards. MPEG1 playback card, or VideoCD in other words. And I have not even got to test or use that card yet. It is the CT6080 model as far as I remember. However I have an ET4000 PCI card, that have some video capture or playback capeability as well. It has a SCSI connector (I think, have no real confirmation on that) and it works as a standard VGA card. The bad thing about that card, is that it will run extremely hot, and so I will not use it without good ventilation. And as the ET4000 chip is so inferiour compared to something like S3-Virge325-PCI, and as those cards are running extremely cold compared to my ET4000-PCI, then I don't see any real use for that card. However it is heavy, well build and looks kind of cool.

EDIT:
Well... I forgot to add, that good ET-4000's are hard to get. They almost always give those jailbar/spaghetti-lines on LCD monitor's, and as they annoy the hell out of me, then I will rather settle for something a bit slower and with better image quality, than the fastest solution that gives jailbars. I had one such ET4000 at some point, that made them vertical greyish white lines. It was horrible. Yet that ET4000-PCI and my Orchid ET4000 ProDesiner-II ISA, makes no such lines. I have seen them on all CL5428 to CL5430 cards as well. Even CL5430-PCI cards. Yet CL5446-PCI and a CL5420-ISA that I have, makes none of these lines. Every Cirrus Logic that I have had, that were VLB cards, made them lines as well. My two S3-805-VLB cards do not make those lines, and the bonus is that they are way faster than any CL-VLB card that I have seen.

Edited by Brostenen 2019-06-03 8:26 PM




(ET-4000-PCI.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments ET-4000-PCI.jpg (408KB - 21 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-06-03 8:27 PM (#1629 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
Need to add a picture of my Orchid ET4000 Prodesigner-II ISA card. :-)




(ET4000-ProDesignerII.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments ET4000-ProDesignerII.jpg (325KB - 17 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-06-05 1:11 AM (#1630 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
I only have one ISA one.

Overall the ET4000 is overrated anyway, it's not that much better than the cheaper cards and, in fact, seem to run into compatibility problems more often than S3 cards do for example.



(ADDA2000.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments ADDA2000.jpg (445KB - 19 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-06-07 9:19 PM (#1633 - in reply to #1630)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
Took a broken HD CRT TV from someone's lawn, bastard to carry, didn't work. Now it works.
Uploaded Image

Took a little help from lameguy, the TV has been hit by something and this cracked the board behind the tube, turned out there was a really hard to spot crack in a ground trace from the heater. Strangely for such a late model CRT it doesn't appear to do NTSC modes for composite at least (the manual suggests it does for HDMI) but I need to test further before I can confirm either.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-06-09 9:34 PM (#1635 - in reply to #1630)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
DXZeff - 2019-06-05 3:11 AM

I only have one ISA one.

Overall the ET4000 is overrated anyway, it's not that much better than the cheaper cards and, in fact, seem to run into compatibility problems more often than S3 cards do for example.


Most S3's that I have tried, are way faster than ET4000 cards. Yet that I have only tested on PCI cards. S3 seems to be generally faster and is way more compatible than ET4000. However. The type of software that I run on ISA-Only cards, are mostly stuff that an ET4000 handles good and without issues. And as my ET4000-ISA have a wonderfull signal quality without any vertical stripes on LCD's. Then I have no real reason to source any S3-ISA card. Yet on something like Pentium-133/166/200 and so on, then I generally just rely on a standard S3-Virge or S3-Trio card. They work good and well for my need's, and anything slower than P-166 is something that I only run MS-Dos-6,22 on. Too slow for Win9x for my personal taste, and for some reason I suspect Win9x to be a resource hog, if I only want to run Dos games or any other Dos software.

I son't know. Is Win9x a resource hog, regarding Dos stuff?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-06-09 9:36 PM (#1636 - in reply to #1633)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
DXZeff - 2019-06-07 11:19 PM

Took a broken HD CRT TV from someone's lawn, bastard to carry, didn't work. Now it works.
Uploaded Image

Took a little help from lameguy, the TV has been hit by something and this cracked the board behind the tube, turned out there was a really hard to spot crack in a ground trace from the heater. Strangely for such a late model CRT it doesn't appear to do NTSC modes for composite at least (the manual suggests it does for HDMI) but I need to test further before I can confirm either.


Sweet.... Congrats. :-)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
waybacktech
Posted 2019-06-25 2:31 AM (#1643 - in reply to #1633)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



IDT WinChip

Posts: 237
10010025
Location: USA
HD CRT eh? I bet that was a heavy bastard. I know you don't watch TV so I am guessing you got yourself a new monitor.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-06-30 11:08 PM (#1646 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
Something I dug up, it isn't the only unused song but it's certainly the better one.

Be warned, this contains the ending of the game if anyone cares enough about the story to not want it spoiled.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-07-22 10:53 PM (#1647 - in reply to #1646)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
Funds are extremely low this month, and I need most of my money for living expenses. Yet I managed to find something for an Amiga500 Rev.6a board that I was able to pay for. It is an Ram upgrade kit for the motherboard, upgrading the ChipRam from 512k to 1024k. Basically just 4 sockets, 4 Ram chips, 4 capacitors and an instructions manual. I might have been able to source the Cap's somewere else, yet for 17,80 Euro I think the price is fair enough.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-07-23 11:29 AM (#1648 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
It has been far too warm here to do much of anything at all, but I have been making progress on a Duke 3D map and I also built a better supercapacitor bank for my bike lights, basically making dynamo lights legal. This has a 12F capacity and can keep the 4W LED bulb lit for around eight minutes after the bike stops - as LEDs draw less than the original bulbs did almost a century ago, I can now use BA15S LED motorcycle headlight replacements to get more light.





(capt0045.png)



(capt0046.png)



(IMG_20190720_231657.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments capt0045.png (330KB - 6 downloads)
Attachments capt0046.png (236KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments IMG_20190720_231657.jpg (113KB - 5 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-07-27 10:08 PM (#1649 - in reply to #1648)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
My adaptor's for Commodore64 VIC-II 5volt-Chip in 12volt-board's, are finished... I made two of them today. I rasped off pin-13 on the bottom socket. Soldered a wire between two legs on the top socket, feeding 5volt to pin-13. And sandwiched them together.


Edited by Brostenen 2019-07-27 10:13 PM




(Adaptor-01-Bottom-Part.jpg)



(Adaptor-02-Top-Part.jpg)



(Adaptor-03-Finished-Sandwich.jpg)



(Adaptor-04-Side-01.jpg)



(Adaptor-05-Side-02.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Adaptor-01-Bottom-Part.jpg (268KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments Adaptor-02-Top-Part.jpg (276KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments Adaptor-03-Finished-Sandwich.jpg (257KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments Adaptor-04-Side-01.jpg (296KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments Adaptor-05-Side-02.jpg (270KB - 5 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-07-31 1:45 AM (#1650 - in reply to #1649)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
More solderjob.... :-P I gave my spare Amig500 Rev. 6a board, the old ChipMem upgrade treatment. I had to cut the traces between pad 2 and 3 on both JP2 and JP7. Then solder pad 1 and 2 together on JP2. Suck out all solder on the holes for the "missing" chip's, and decoupling capacitors. Finally solder in sockets and cap's and mount mem chips in the empty socket's. Straight forward and actually a lot easier than on a Rev. 8a.1 board.

Finally I did the smoke test, and all booted fine. Then I did a Systest on the mem. And that went well. I used the rest of the evening, to test a lot of demo's and ran a couple of games. Including Alien Breed. All seems to be in order, after some 4 hours of testing, watching demo's and playing a couple of games.

First step in building this board into a PC desktop case are done. So far so good....

Edited by Brostenen 2019-07-31 1:52 AM




(1MB-Upgrade-01.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-02.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-03.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-04.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-05.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-06.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-07.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-08.jpg)



(1MB-Upgrade-09.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-01.jpg (628KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-02.jpg (543KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-03.jpg (485KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-04.jpg (591KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-05.jpg (560KB - 7 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-06.jpg (504KB - 6 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-07.jpg (536KB - 6 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-08.jpg (459KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments 1MB-Upgrade-09.jpg (642KB - 5 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rawit
Posted 2019-08-02 3:58 PM (#1652 - in reply to #1650)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Fujitsu 186

Posts: 9
0
Brostenen - 2019-07-31 2:45 AM
First step in building this board into a PC desktop case are done. So far so good....


What kind of case are you going to use? The Checkmate case looks pretty sweet.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-08-02 6:49 PM (#1653 - in reply to #1652)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 379
100100100252525
Rawit - 2019-08-02 5:58 PM

Brostenen - 2019-07-31 2:45 AM
First step in building this board into a PC desktop case are done. So far so good....


What kind of case are you going to use? The Checkmate case looks pretty sweet.


I am going to keep the cards close at this point of the build. Yet I will be writing about it on my blog, once it is finished. This is only a sneak peak and brief description of the project.

Regarding the case. I can not stand the checkmate case. I do acknowledge the great and wonderfull work that he have been put into it. Yet it is not for me. I dont like the design of the case, yet I love the internal design and modularity of the case. And it can not be boight as of now.

The case that I have chosen, is an old AT class desktop case from a well known brand. No. Not IBM. That is too meh for my taste and have none Amiga'ish design traits. Mine looks like a combination of a PC AT case and an Amiga500/600/2000/4000.

The end result will have a feel of something in between an 500 and an 2000. I am aiming at features and not muscle power, so I dont think that I will be getting an accelerator for it. Just some 8mb fastmem and IDE adaptor. Then scandoubler and stuff like that.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Old Guy 88
Posted 2019-08-03 11:26 PM (#1654 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 67
2525
Location: N.E. Pennsylvania USA
Hello Everyone
Hope your Summer is going well
found this in an old Computer I Picked up
Looks kind of Interesting.
KAY VISI-PITCH ISA CARD

Uploaded Image

Uploaded Image

Uploaded Image

Uploaded Image









Uploaded Image

Uploaded Image

Uploaded Image





Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-08-04 1:20 AM (#1655 - in reply to #1654)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Hull, UK
Looks like late 90s industrial hardware.
Spending most of the summer away from the electronics, it's too warm to be around them and there are other things to do.

I did buy a thing though;
Uploaded Image
Always did want a cheaply made clone versus the real thing.

Edited by DXZeff 2019-08-04 1:21 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rawit
Posted 2019-08-05 10:13 AM (#1656 - in reply to #1654)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Fujitsu 186

Posts: 9
0
Old Guy 88 - 2019-08-04 12:26 AM

Hello Everyone
Hope your Summer is going well
found this in an old Computer I Picked up
Looks kind of Interesting.
KAY VISI-PITCH ISA CARD


https://www.ntid.rit.edu/slpros/instruction/segmental/segmental/tuto...

This page mentions its use and purpose. Any software on the machine it came from?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rawit
Posted 2019-08-05 10:15 AM (#1657 - in reply to #1655)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Fujitsu 186

Posts: 9
0
DXZeff - 2019-08-04 2:20 AM
Always did want a cheaply made clone versus the real thing.


At least it has a real Yamaha on there; curious how it sounds.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : < ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 >
Now viewing page 46 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2019 PD9 Software