DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Recently Played/Bought/Messed with
Jump to page : < ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 >
Now viewing page 42 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> General ComputingMessage format
 
Brostenen
Posted 2019-01-29 2:23 PM (#1492 - in reply to #1491)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Is that a prototype card of some sort? Looks like it is.
And for me.... Solved the Amiga600 scandoubler issue.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-01-30 3:52 AM (#1493 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
Amigas are weird...

Otherwise, I also worked on this;



(capt0150.png)



(capt0143P.png)



(capt0145.png)



(capt0148.png)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments capt0150.png (198KB - 11 downloads)
Attachments capt0143P.png (190KB - 8 downloads)
Attachments capt0145.png (417KB - 13 downloads)
Attachments capt0148.png (583KB - 10 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-01-30 9:28 AM (#1494 - in reply to #1493)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Yeah... The scandoubler are wierd, yet that is an aftermarket upgrade that are not produced by any company that are making Amiga's. Actually funny that they invented a way to pass video signal through the memory slot. At least on the 600.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-01-31 8:12 PM (#1495 - in reply to #1494)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Succesfully created the first Amiga bootdisk in my life. It is rather easy to do.

- Format a floppy the normal way.
- Go to CLI (command line), and type "install df0:" (makes the bootsector bootable)
- Create a directory on the disk, with the name "s".
- Go to s, and create a file called "Startup-sequence".
- Add whatever command or what you like in that file.

Then I opened the mailbox outside and saw that the mailman had dropped me what is in the picture.
I am so looking forward to test it out. Some of the changes in this release are




(AmigaOS-3.1.4-03.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments AmigaOS-3.1.4-03.jpg (349KB - 8 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-05 11:58 AM (#1496 - in reply to #1495)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Cooking pork in the oven today. I have my own recepie that I made from scratch. It is made with what you would find on the market in London in the 1890's. Yeahhh.... Old old school. I call it "Jack the ripper's pork roast". It has to be good, because it needs to be good. Especially since it it my 43'th birthday today. Yup... Cleaning the house and making the food for guests on my birthday. Pork roast with baked root's (carrots, onions, selleri and so on, with thyme and garlic). And a loaf of warm bread on the side.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-02-05 7:34 PM (#1497 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
Ah well, happy birthday then, hopefully the roast is good after all that.

This C&T card is pretty impressive, a competitor for the ET4000, but the cache sockets do not appear to change anything real-world despite increasing the memory speed. It also works in 50MHz VLB slots as far as text mode, cannot currently test further.



(unknown (7).png)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments unknown (7).png (27KB - 11 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-05 11:35 PM (#1498 - in reply to #1497)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Thanks... :-) It was good. Like in really good. I recommend "Rippers pork". :-P I got money for bírthday, so I actually bought something sweet. The rest of the money will be spend on clothes.

That card just became more interresting. I wonder if it is more or less compatible with graphics, compared to an ET4000. So it is on par with an ET4000. Sweet. Good catch. :-) ET4000's are not the absolute best in compatibility, as far as I understand, and they are not the top performer of all VLB/ISA cards. So the question remains, if that card is a better choice than ET4000 in general or something like that.

Edited by Brostenen 2019-02-05 11:38 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-11 8:29 PM (#1503 - in reply to #71)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Time to play with SCSI again. Love that shit.... 33 to 35 MB/s and just under 8 ms seek time. I used an Asus PCI controller on a Pentium-166 non-MMX. The drives I used, was these IBM Ultrastar 10k RPM drives. They are 9gb drives.



Edited by Brostenen 2019-02-11 8:31 PM




(IMG_20190211_210654210.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_20190211_210654210.jpg (532KB - 8 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-13 6:29 PM (#1504 - in reply to #1503)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Testing some hardware. I had an S3-virge325 (from Number 9), S3-Trio64v+, AWE64-Standard and Audician32 running in my Pentium-166 today. I tested with Doom2, Jazz Jackrabit, Monkey Island2, Raptor and Duke3D. I still dislike the AWE64, when I compare it to the Audician32 and for some reason I like the Virge325 better. So the machine ended up getting the Virge and the Audician. I simply can not stand the AWE64 wavetable sound in Doom, and Duke sounds so eccho'ing. It is really a shame. And the Audician32 have a real OPL core, compared to the poor solution that Creative choose. I will leave the Audician in, and when I get the money, then I will buy another Dreamblaster module.

Am I wrong, when I say that an AWE64 really stinks? I mean... Why does it sound so bad. I really am banging my head against the wall, whenever people say that the absolute best solution for sound in MS-Dos 6.22 are an AWE64 card. It sounds a bit like poking a red hot iron into my ears.

Audician32 (or other cards like that) and a decent MIDI/WaveTable-daughterboard are still the best way to go.....



EDIT:
Decided that I dislike AWE64 so much, that I will never use another one....



Edited by Brostenen 2019-02-13 6:34 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-02-15 7:30 PM (#1505 - in reply to #1504)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
If you don't like the sound it makes, then logically you can't be wrong. I don't think it's any secret that I hate Creative cards in general, the only reason I use them is because they're what most software wants to work with, but they're honestly horrible.
Then again, I don't find the YMF719 to be particularly good either, the SB emulation is poor if it even works, the wavetable is possibly the worst I've heard (if you can find one with that onboard) and the drivers are kinda crappy at times. I'd sooner be stuck with an OPTi than a Yamaha ISA card to be honest. As for the 704 wavetable, here is what it sounds like; https://www.mediafire.com/file/626gd5dv4m5zwud/SFNO_704.ogg/file
For comparison, the same song with the SCC-1, the MU90R, the Maestro, the Maui and GUS - now there's an underwhelming card, the Gravis is a total paperweight of a thing, a real wasted opportunity, noisy too, it promises so much and simply doesn't deliver on any of it to a satisfactory level.

Meanwhile I've released that Duke 3D map and gotten hold of a couple of things. Firstly I got this for £20;
Uploaded Image

And also discovered that my 5AGM2 can provide voltages down to 1.8V (the board only lists 2.2V upwards) which means it should be able to run K6-3 chips, so I bought a 500MHz K6-2+ to try out. I'd like to try one with all of the cache instead of half, but as I'll probably go back to the regular K6-2 either way, this isn't important. Guess I could try CPU-World, someone there might want to part with one. Could stomach a lower clock as I can always underclock the faster chips to compare them more accurately. I might have to do some funky things with the BIOS unless someone already patched it out there, which I suspect they might, given Chaintech officially tested these configurations at one point, claimed it worked but seemingly never supported actually using the board that way to cover their backs.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-15 7:40 PM (#1506 - in reply to #1504)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Uhhh... Nice catch. I will really like to know more about that "terrorist" card. I mean... How does it sound like? Will you make a soundcard recording in the near future with it?

Yeah... I like Creative cards without any wavetable. Just OPL. And I don't like the wavetable part of the YMF-718 or 719 cards eighter. Yet if I run them in MS-Dos 6.22 then I really like them. I think they sound better in SB-Pro mode than any Soundblaster-16 card. And to me the OPL part, sounds just as good as an old school OPL chip. I know there are some issues, yet I find those lesser issues than an AWE32 or AWE64. On the YMF-718/719 card, I will get a Dreamblaster daughterboard. To me it is the most versatile solution out there, as it meet's all my Ms-Dos 6.22 need's.

I too got some stuff as well. The following was in the mail yesterday.





(95mb.jpg)



(BootSelector.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 95mb.jpg (498KB - 8 downloads)
Attachments BootSelector.jpg (323KB - 8 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-02-15 8:16 PM (#1507 - in reply to #1506)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
By contrast my results with the 719's SB compatibility are extremely poor, as in

Sometimes it works fine, but much of the time it's as though you're underwater. Could just be the games I run happen to not like it, could be that the cards I have are shot for one reason or another, but it honestly doesn't impress me as much as I remember it doing. The FM on them is decent enough though.

The Dream wavetable on the ISIS should (and seemingly does) sound much like the one on the Maestro, this guy has a recording of it;

Won't be able to try it for a while as I thought it had Win2K support, it doesn't so I'm without a good candidate system to test it being on hand.

The Amiga boot drive swapping thingy reminds me, also modchipped a PS1 and played some Mad Panic Coaster, turns out PAL PS1 consoles are not good candidates for this and have some issues running NTSC games properly.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-16 10:42 PM (#1508 - in reply to #1507)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Ahhh....
Terminal velocity. I used to play that on a Win98 setup, using a Creative Soundblaster PCI-128. Never tried it in pure Dos (6.22 and down).
The Dos games that I usually play, have never caused me any problems, using a YMF-718/719 card. I think the newest are Duke3D.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rawit
Posted 2019-02-20 8:21 AM (#1515 - in reply to #1504)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Slow 8088

Posts: 4
0
Brostenen - 2019-02-13 7:29 PM
Am I wrong, when I say that an AWE64 really stinks? I mean... Why does it sound so bad. I really am banging my head against the wall, whenever people say that the absolute best solution for sound in MS-Dos 6.22 are an AWE64 card. It sounds a bit like poking a red hot iron into my ears.


The AWE32/64 is a jack of all trades, master of none. People suggest the card as it gives you audio in most cases, but for pure DOS it's not great at all. No true OPL, DSP issues, no soundfont loading with protected mode games, tiny sounding ROM. Disclaimer: this is coming from a GUS fanboy
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-20 4:08 PM (#1516 - in reply to #1515)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Rawit - 2019-02-20 10:21 AM
The AWE32/64 is a jack of all trades, master of none. People suggest the card as it gives you audio in most cases, but for pure DOS it's not great at all. No true OPL, DSP issues, no soundfont loading with protected mode games, tiny sounding ROM. Disclaimer: this is coming from a GUS fanboy


I like the sound from a GUS. Though I have a hard time understanding what I really need such a card for. Like. It has no OPL and it does not really give that good Soundblaster support. Yet those few games that have GUS support, out of all Dos games that have soundcard support of some sort, then I really like the GUS and will recommend a GUS for those games at any time. Those games are few and to my knowledge, then they were released around 1991 to 1995 or something like that.

Anyway....
I like the GUS. I really like it. Yet I get more versatility and broader useage from something like the Jazz16 that I have. Personally I really do not game that many Dos games at all, and those that I do game, sounds way better on my Audician32 than they are on my AWE64. Funny enough, then I have one of those Vibra16 based Creative cards, that have a real OPL chip on it. The mixer is lacking treble and bass setting. However this have no impact on my setup, as I am using an surround amplifier in stereo mode and good speakers, instead of those tiny desk speakers that we used to have in the 90's. So I have full controll over bass and treble this way. The vibra that I have are really responsive in bass and it has nearly no line noise. Shure I can hear something faint, if I crank the volume up on my amplifier and put my ear to the speaker. Yet for normal volume, I can actually not hear the card hissing radio noise at all.

We can both agree that an AWE64 is not a good card at all. It is decent when it is the only solution you can get. And sound is at least better than no sound at all.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-02-22 2:09 AM (#1517 - in reply to #1516)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
As noted a few posts back, went off the GUS when I realized it never got used and didn't generally sound that good comparatively anyway and is noisy. Unfortunately games which did support it often did so poorly too, which is probably why it's still sat on a shelf and homeless right now, it'll probably end up in the DX-50 eventually because that thing isn't likely going to get much use anyway, I'm all about the SX-40.

To clarify, I think the GUS was a good idea and I like that idea, but I'd rather be stuck with a PAS16 and that Maui wavetable, or the Terratec card than any of that nonsense. Incidentally the Maui sounds kinda like a more punchy GUS anyway despite its tiny sample sizes. Now if you want a really awful card, try the Ensoniq Soundscape or the Turtle Beach Pinnacle, they're both fairly similar, they both suck, they're both expensive and they both rarely ever work properly.

As for the AWE64, that ISIS may replace the one in the K6 as I'd wanted to use it elsewhere, but it won't work elsewhere. It's a bit of a waste though, so it'll probably just go on the shelf because stupid Guillemot didn't bother supporting it properly and I'm too ol and tired to run around after manufacturers mistakes or laziness any more.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-22 10:06 PM (#1518 - in reply to #1517)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
I'll still choose an GUS over an AWE card at any time. The problem is, the GUS supports too few games for me to like. Regarding none wavetable/midi card, then I am really surprised by the card I have in my DX33 build. The big problem with that card, is that it has no internal connector for a daughterboard. I really like it, and the sound quality really suits me. I think it just speaks to me in some way.

It is THIS build that I am talking about.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-25 10:12 PM (#1519 - in reply to #1518)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Did a much needed upgrade on my 500-TF530 machine. I converted it into a near stock Amiga500-Plus, or a chipmem mod in other words. :-) As my board is an revision 8a.1 and the chipset is a full ECS. Then it was rather easy to do. I had to remove a couple of solder blobs, and move other solder blobs from one pad to another. And finally solder in the sockets and insert the chips. Now it has 1mb chipmem on the board, and I can use trapdoor mem as chipram, without the use of a gary adaptor. I only messed up once, ripping a solder pad, yet there are through holes, so I used a wire to bridge the JP2 at the kickstart socket. Finally. I tested with a trapdoor memory ekspansion. And it relocates the mem as chip. 2mb ChipMem on my a500 Revision 8a.1 is good. I am happy with the result.

EDIT:
If anyone have such a board, and are qurious as to how it is done. Then I used Kipper2K's guide.


Edited by Brostenen 2019-02-25 11:59 PM




(ChipMem-01.jpg)



(ChipMem-02.jpg)



(ChipMem-03.jpg)



(ChipMem-04.jpg)



(ChipMem-05.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments ChipMem-01.jpg (545KB - 6 downloads)
Attachments ChipMem-02.jpg (461KB - 6 downloads)
Attachments ChipMem-03.jpg (634KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments ChipMem-04.jpg (522KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments ChipMem-05.jpg (489KB - 5 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-26 4:01 PM (#1520 - in reply to #1519)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
My Amiga600 are now finished the way I want it. Going to be awesomme to be able to use HDD's larger than 4gb and CD-Rom drives as well. Tons of bug fixes in the 3.1.4 release and feature upgrades compared to the 3.1 release from around 1994 or 1995.

- 1mb ChipMem in the trapdoor.
- Scandoubler on the ChipMem module.
- AmigaOS 3.1.4 (the new 2018 release).
- 9,5 megabyte FastRam module.
- IDE adaptor (splitter for both 44pin and 40pin devices, and compatibility with SD cards)
- SD-to-IDE adaptor.

The machine is fully recapped with ceramic caps and not those leaky electrolyt ones. So this miggy will keep on going the next +10 years from now.
I kept away from accelerators, because of the size of the machine, and I am planning to save up for a Vampire V4 stand alone machine.


Edited by Brostenen 2019-02-26 4:05 PM




(Amiga600.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Amiga600.jpg (598KB - 6 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-02-26 9:20 PM (#1521 - in reply to #1520)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
I had some issues with the AmigaOS 3.1.4 installation disks. They were recieved with corrupt data. After I had contacted the seller, they send me ADF files of all disks through email. I formatted the floppy disks in workbench, tested the surface with D-Copy (went 100% through on all 6 disks), rewrote the disks using the ADF files, and retested the disks with D-Copy once more. Now they are working 100% without any error's. I have an idea that the postal service, eighter had some magnet close to the package or they x-rayed the package. Fear of terror seems to be so freaking populair these days. Well... Big thanks to the seller, for providing me with the ADF files.

This kind of service are wonderfull. It was fast, like in REALLY fast. As I wrote the seller at 3am and 8am the ADF files ticked in. Can't beat this service these days. If it was Microsoft or Apple, it might have taken a week or two for a reply that was basically a bit like "have you tried X or Y". From this seller, I got a copy of the disks in ADF files, like within 6 hours. I am speachless.....

Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-02-27 12:17 PM (#1522 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
At the moment I've had no time and have had very little sleep due to raising baby mice. This photo is from around a week ago;



(DSC02540.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments DSC02540.JPG (553KB - 8 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-03-01 6:15 PM (#1523 - in reply to #1522)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK


In other news I bought a couple of PC Chips M919 boards untested, they're both dead (keyboard lights come on and stay on for several minutes, no beeps), the RAM they came with is dead, at least one of the CPUs is dead (an older DX-33). I haven't tested all of the things they came with because when I installed some of the RAM in another board to test it, it killed the board, causing it to do the same thing as the M919.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2019-03-02 1:21 PM (#1524 - in reply to #1523)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 331
10010010025
Oh damn.... One is in the process of dying? :-( Well. Nature sometimes, does not go the way we want it to. My deepest respect to you, for raising these little fellow's. I bet you will get a nice companion if it grows up and becomes an adult. Hope you get some sleep at some point.

Personally, I am thinking deep on how to get that memory expanded to the max in my Amiga500. Well.... I do have 2mb ChipRam at this point, and that is totally overkill for 1987 to 1992 Amiga500 games. They all needed 512k ChipRam and the later ones wanted additional 512k SlowRam. So 2mb ChipRam in the machine is: One. Double the size of what is actually needed. Second. It is all ChipRam, so the chipset have four times the normal size for graphics and CPU access. I just want to max this baby out, and at the same time get as fast a machine that I can, using what are avaliable today in form of modern upgrades. This is the reason why I chose the TF-530 accelerator. It is the fastest one, and are actually cheaper than slower ones. Yet only provides 2mb FastRam.

I could have gone for the Wicher500i accelerator, because it gives the ability to upgrade the machine with 8mb of FastRam, using one standard 60ns 72pin 8mb module. Yet the CPU is a 68000 CPU that can be clocked to anything between 25 and 33 or 50 mhz. Yet the TF-530 that I have, has a 68030, running at 50mhz, plus a math co processor, running at 50 as well. To me this is a no brainer, and I want to hit the goal of an upgraded Amiga2000 in an all-in-one form factor, with as many upgrades as possible, strichtly internally mounted. Only one, two at the top, switches mounted in the bottom half of the case.

Back to the mem upgrade/issue thingy. Well.... The goal is to max out all possible mem options, with the use of the TF-530. As the TF-530 only allow me to have 2mb FastRam in total, then I need to look at SlowRam options. SlowRam are just pseudo FastRam without the same register access as real FastRam. So I am thinking if the a512 memory can be used as 512k SlowRam, as it have a passthrough port. And if it can be done, then the next question is, if I can use 512k, 1mb or 1.5mb Slowram on top of the 1mb ChipRam that I have in my trapdoor as of now. That would be so awesomme....

030-50.
2mb ChipRam.
2mb FastRam.
1.5mb SlowRam.
Boot selector.
Kickstart switcher with 1.3 and 3.1 rom.
Internal 4gb harddrive.
Internal Scandoubler.

Now that would be some awesomme machine. And If I wanted, I might install a PC-Bridge board as well in the future. I have seen one that has 640k Ram, NEC V30 CPU and CGA/EGA/VGA compatible video. THAT would be the ultimate 1984 to 1991 gaming machine.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-03-05 2:33 AM (#1525 - in reply to #1524)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
Well four of the five I had died because the stupid heat pad failed, I gave the last one back to the mother and she accepted it, otherwise she only has one left now herself for reasons unknown - this is her first litter, so its chances of survival were never great anyway.

PC-Bridge... I still need to offload that DOS-on-Mac card on some fool someday. Overall I still don't fully understand these Amiga upgrades and find them rather odd, they seem to drastically alter the system's inner workings at any rate.

Due to those M919 boards not working I nabbed another scrap lot;

Not all that interesting but the board on the bottom right looks kinda neat, almost an alternate reality version of the MS-4144 and the white ISA slots make one have to question who made it. Certain aspects of it look like PC Chips but others don't, I don't believe it's an ECS board, the color of the mask and the placement of the version number suggests ABit, but I could swear ABit were stuck using ALI chipsets at that time, their Pentium boards of the time such as my PS5 did have the white slots and overall similar layout however and those did have SiS chipsets, so who knows. Possibly an ABit PI4.

Unfortunately it does have pretty nasty battery damage and might not be properly repairable, no way to know until it gets here. The 286 and 386SX board will likely be offloaded on someone else if they work in any capacity, no use for those, likely the same for that smaller 486 board as that's redundant at this point, that one almost looks like a Jetway.

Edited by DXZeff 2019-03-05 2:45 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2019-03-09 3:34 PM (#1526 - in reply to #1525)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 427
10010010010025
Location: Hull, UK
Update on the PI4 - it is a PI4 but possibly sold under the Silicon Star International brand, the EPROM is intact but I have a BIN for it anyway. The board does not POST, it does seem that the chipset and KBC fire up though, at least I think the chipset is getting to the end of its own self-test and then stopping. Battery damage is fairly minimal.

Now the strange part, there are two missing capacitors that have been cut off, one is next to the CPU socket, you can see it at the lower left of the photo, right of the two larger axail tantalums. The other is next to the clock generator, just above it in the photo, that really densely pinned chip left of the EPROM. The first connects to the CPU's "CLK" pin and connects pretty much directly to the clock generator, the second appears to be for feedback/reference clocks, possibly division, and again connects directly to the clock generator. Whilst I can't find a datasheet for the SC464AYB anywhere, I do own other boards which use it and have probed them extensively, so I have a rough idea of what's going on. The second capacitor should definitely be 1µF, the first one I'm not so sure about, I don't think that one is polarized, all I know is the value is small as I can't read the value of the SMD parts used by my other boards.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : < ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 >
Now viewing page 42 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2019 PD9 Software