DXZeff's Computing Forum
DXZeff's Computing Forum
Search | Statistics | User Listing Discord | Forums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Recently Played/Bought/Messed with
Jump to page : < ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 >
Now viewing page 40 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Computer Speak -> General ComputingMessage format
 
UserH
Posted 2018-10-14 12:29 AM (#1437 - in reply to #1436)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with


Slow 8088

Posts: 5
0
On the same land mass (that's quietly going to the dogs.. like the rest of the world) as DXzeff, Brostenen..

Some complete and utter basket case miggy 500's can be had for as low as around 30 something of HRH's notes.. But as I'm trying to make a "living" off the base dole.. Even that's a fucking stretch.. I'm not even going to bother looking at an A1200 either (They may as well be trying to sell me an Atari Falcon.. Which I'd love to have as well.. But those are pure fuck'n ubuntainium to me)

I'd consider a raspberry Pi.. IF there was a version of Ultra Amiga Emulator that could emulate a OCHI complaint USB controller with USB device pass through..

The Amithlon emulator has some cool hyperviser like device pass through feature, so you can get access to the host machines PCI bus, which means you can use all the good stuff like graphics boards, IDE and USB controllers, Ethernet etc.. So long as you have the OpenPCI and Amithlon device drivers installed (plus the native 68k drivers for the hardware, which would also work on a real machine with somthing like a Mediator Zorro to PCI bus bridge board) in Amiga OS. While UAE would never be able to pull something like that off.. Just a simple USB pass through feature would be enough.. As you can simply copy shit off a USB storage device using the Poseidon USB stack software.. Plus you can also piss around with other cool shit like USB midi interfaces and webcams etc.

Edited by UserH 2018-10-14 12:32 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-14 8:44 PM (#1438 - in reply to #1437)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
#UserH
Ahhh I see. In that case, then real 68k Amiga's are expensive to you. Been there my self throughout the years. Really hope you get that Amithlon up and running. :-)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2018-10-17 12:56 AM (#1439 - in reply to #1438)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 406
100100100100
Location: Hull, UK
Currently tied up with video stuff but have no images to show. With all this talk of 80s micros though I did get this recorded a while ago; https://soundcloud.com/high_treason/dizzy-prince-of-the-yolkfolk
Whilst I'm used to playing the C64 version it wasn't that useful for learning the song, because the SID doesn't really generate tones that are close to actual notes much of the time, so the Spectrum version had to be listened to over and over instead.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-17 8:37 AM (#1440 - in reply to #1439)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
#DXZeff
Cool. Yeah, the SID chip sometimes does not sound like anything else. Nearly finished with that A500 restore project. And in the next couple of weeks, I will install that accelerator card in my other A500, wich is a card with 030 50mhz CPU, FPU, extra Ram and IDE controller. Going to give it a new floppy drive as well. Then I have this A600, that I am going to give an kickrom switch and I am waiting for Individual computers to release new A600 scandoublers. And finally, I am going to give my C64 a full recap. I recieved new caps for it a couple of days ago.

After that, I am going back to PC, as I need to move a DX33 machine to another and better looking case. And I need to get a butt-load of zip-ties for cable management in all my machines. Another thing that I need to look for, is a SD-SCSI adaptor, as my old SCSI drive are dying. My 1gb drive, the one that are dying, will short curcuit or something. The PSU shuts down, once the drive begins to spinn up. So an SD adaptor for my VLB SCSI adaptor is in dire need. Especially when I want my DX2-80 to run SCSI. That is awesomme stuff.


Edited by Brostenen 2018-10-17 8:39 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-17 11:44 PM (#1441 - in reply to #1440)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
Recapped my C64-C, board number 250469 Rev.3. It was beginning to flash in brightness intensity, and letters were sometimes unreadable. Furthermore it had a horisontal band of noise, moving slowly from top to bottom. Now all those issues are history.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2018-10-20 12:03 PM (#1442 - in reply to #1441)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
Not a new build by any stretch, but as I just go her out of storage and set her up again thought I'd share some pics and specs and benchmark figures. So AMD K5 PR 166, DFi P5BTX/L motherboard(intel 430TX, great thing is the dips switches, much easier than jumpers), 32 MB SDRAM, Number nine reality 332 S3 Virge 325 videocard(excellent image quality on this one, I really like the number nine VGA cards), soundblaster 16 CT2260(yes I know these are rubbish, but honestly I run silent mostly anyhow), 1 GB fujitsu IDE hard disk, DOS 6.22, win 3.11.

Here are some benchmark numbers:
3D Bench 155.3
PC Player 42.5
Doom gametiks 2134/relatiks 1059(can't remember how to get fps from these! lol)
Quake full screen 320x200 24.7

Edited by CyrixInstead 2018-10-20 3:15 PM




(IMGP0012.JPG)



(IMGP0007.JPG)



(IMGP0009.JPG)



(IMGP0010.JPG)



(IMGP0011.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMGP0012.JPG (130KB - 10 downloads)
Attachments IMGP0007.JPG (216KB - 11 downloads)
Attachments IMGP0009.JPG (206KB - 13 downloads)
Attachments IMGP0010.JPG (208KB - 11 downloads)
Attachments IMGP0011.JPG (264KB - 10 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Old Guy 88
Posted 2018-10-20 7:47 PM (#1443 - in reply to #71)
Subject: RE: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 61
2525
Location: N.E. Pennsylvania USA
Hello
Been watching WaybackTech and High Treason Video Streams. not doing much of anything else.
Dug howard out of the closet and he fired right up. even the time and date were still right.
Pentium Pro 180 and VooDoo 2 SLI
now i just have to find the compact flash with win 95 setup i had on here before.
Uploaded Image
Uploaded Image
Uploaded Image
Uploaded Image
Uploaded Image
Uploaded Image
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-20 11:22 PM (#1444 - in reply to #1443)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
#CyrixInstead.
I have that exact same model of S3 PCI. They are indeed wonderfull cards. Good clean signal, great speed and wonderfull compatibility.

For me...
I gave my "primaery" Amiga500 a new floppy drive. I had this dead and shorted Amiga500 floppy drive, that was a modded PC drive from Alps. And after some digging around in the closet, I found a complete untouched Alps drive. Same model number as well. So I moved the top shield and the eject button to the unmodded drive. Mounted it in the Amiga500 and connected an adaptor cable, wich provides both ready and disk change signal plus changing the drive from DF1 to DF0. Works beautifully in the Amiga, and I have gone through some 25/30 disks in one go, and they all loaded without issues.




(IMG_20181020_181049128.jpg)



(IMG_20181020_181104474.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_20181020_181049128.jpg (549KB - 12 downloads)
Attachments IMG_20181020_181104474.jpg (370KB - 12 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-23 12:30 AM (#1450 - in reply to #1444)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
Fixed the hole in the Amiga case, using cut out pieces of plastic and super glue. Finished it off, by painting it with paint, made from original Amiga500 case and acetone. Covers it well, and later I need to smooth it out using sandpaper. Case fixed.... :-P

Then I installed a kickstart switcher, that has 1.3 and 3.1 in one chip. Drilled a hole for the contact in the side of the bottom part of the case. That is below the eject button, and placed a bit f├║rther back towards the end of the case. Used an original 2-way contact from the 80's. Much more durable than modern flimsy ones. This baby need a 6mm hole and not a 4mm hole.

Now it is ready for installation of the Terrible Fire TF-530 accelerator card. And a harddrive. I will still be able to run old games, that require kickstart 1.3 and I will have access to a harddrive internally.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-25 10:17 PM (#1451 - in reply to #1450)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
Tried and tested out my Terrible Fire TF-530 accelerator card these last few days. And found that I need to get a kickstart socket relocator in order to have my cloanto dual-kickstart rom switcher installed. It is quite tall, and a few millimeters are in the way of the CPU relocator. I can install the card without the CPU-Relocator. Though doing that, will prevent me from having the keyboard installed in my Amiga500.

On the bright side... This card makes my 500 around some 17 or so times faster. It has roughly 7 times faster CPU power of an Amiga1200, and double of an Amiga3000. Oh boy...
And the build in harddrive controller are just wonderfull. Transfers some 1.9 to 2.3 megabyte/second. Love it.
Then comes additional 2mb of ram and there is even an FPU on the board. Just awesomme....




(IMG_20181025_010734988.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_20181025_010734988.jpg (600KB - 8 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2018-10-30 8:55 AM (#1452 - in reply to #1451)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 406
100100100100
Location: Hull, UK
@CyrixInstead; That's an old Tiny case. Probably faster than my K5 because of SDRAM.

@Old Guy 88; You're lucky if that will boot from CF, mine didn't.

@Brostenen; These things are all well and good, though I do question at what point the line is drawn and it stops being an Amiga any more.

----------------

After almost 15 years of trying to find one, this showed up;

Hopefully it works because it was not cheap, though it's not as useful as it might have been due to the ECS SI55P taking its place. Still, always wanted another one as I remember it being unusually quick with a P75 installed at the time, maybe it's just rose tinted memory glasses, be nice to find out, still have all the parts from that system aside from the hard drive, that died years ago.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-31 8:16 AM (#1453 - in reply to #1452)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
#DXZeff:

That is a nice looking board. I have no wide knowledge or personal attachment to any Pentium boards. Not to say that I do not like that platform. It is awesomme. I just do not know much about the motherboards. I guess I was more into restructuring my life, and working hard, after a failed education and moving halfway across the country at that point in time.

For you'r question. Well... To me, an Amiga stops being an Amiga. When it does not have or is 100% compatible with the old chipset's. That would be OCS, ECS and AGA. Now. I know that there are the new PPC AmigaOS compatible motherboards, sporting G4 CPU's and so on. To me they are nothing but AmigaOS 4 compatible boards, and not really an Amiga. Then we have the VampireV4 boards comming out in the next couple of years. They have a beta version running allready, and as they are FPGA boards, then they have programmed the chip to be a fully working AGA machine. In contrast to OS4 machines, then the VampireV4 is a true Amiga in my eyes. You can actually make it into an tripple a machine (AAA chipset) wich were a system that were put to the grave by Commodore, and they build AGA out of that system. That would be an Amiga in my eyes as well.

If you were thinking about my Accelerator and stuff, and other upgrades. Then there has always been stuff like that. I have seen Amiga's from 1992, running a complete and smooth version of Dooom. Shure it takes a special kind off beefy CPU and Ram upgrade, though putting insane amount of money into vintage gear, will make an Amiga4000 capeable of running Doom fluid. You just have one single downside. That is the lack of midi soundtrack in Doom. Money wise, it is not worth it, unless you had the hardware back then and kept to it untill now.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-10-31 8:27 AM (#1454 - in reply to #1453)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
This is the Vampire that I was talking about. It is a complete Amiga inside an FPGA chip, on a board that are standalone, or can be used as an accelerator upgrade card. Quite neat if you ask me....

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-11-05 9:49 PM (#1455 - in reply to #1454)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
Messed with some Dos hardware again. My dx33 are running perfectly, and I decided to give it a different case.
And the case badge is one that I have used on and off, since 1995.


Edited by Brostenen 2018-11-05 9:51 PM




(DX33-01.jpg)



(DX33-02.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments DX33-01.jpg (394KB - 10 downloads)
Attachments DX33-02.jpg (309KB - 12 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2018-11-05 10:04 PM (#1456 - in reply to #1455)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 406
100100100100
Location: Hull, UK
Ah, so that's what became of it. Nice.


Meanwhile the PCI54ST arrived, it has rot and the RTC was not working, but after pulling the battery off and replacing it with a coin cell holder, as well as replacing the clock crystal and generally fucking about with things, it runs and it seems my memories were correct, this is indeed the only P75 I've ever run into that can run Blood smoothly;
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-11-05 10:52 PM (#1457 - in reply to #1456)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
DXZeff - 2018-11-06 12:04 AM

Ah, so that's what became of it. Nice.



Yup. The old case, was this one here below. Mmmmm.... Blood. The only horror game that ever got me scared. It is not the GFX, it is the sound effects, and I can still feel my heart running like a paranoid person on 1 kilo amphetamine. Whenever I play Blood in a semi-dark room with candles burning.




(OLDdx33.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments OLDdx33.jpg (294KB - 10 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CyrixInstead
Posted 2018-11-07 12:30 PM (#1458 - in reply to #1456)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Intel P5

Posts: 69
2525
Location: UK
DXZeff - 2018-11-05 10:04 PM

Ah, so that's what became of it. Nice.


Meanwhile the PCI54ST arrived, it has rot and the RTC was not working, but after pulling the battery off and replacing it with a coin cell holder, as well as replacing the clock crystal and generally fucking about with things, it runs and it seems my memories were correct, this is indeed the only P75 I've ever run into that can run Blood smoothly;


Your quite right, that is a Tiny case housing my K5, well spotted, it originally had a Pentium 120 with a VIA chipset board, the battery had leaked really badly and ruined many traces even to the point of travelling up through the simm sockets and ruining the 8mb simm installed. That went into the bin obviously, no saving that, and was years ago anyhow, before most folk cared about these things.
Out of curiosity have you tried a K5 75MHz? I have an SSA/5 here and it seemed to go pretty well in that same setup above, managed to figure out the DIP settings to get 50MHz bus speed with trial and error(along with 75,83 & 95). Just wondered how that K5 might stand up against a Intel. Was about 3 years ago I did that mind you, so might have to dig about for the setting, I know I wrote it all down, but where is the question! Anyhow glad you got the SiS going, I'm fond of there stuff, run a Cyrix MII 333 on one and a K6/2 450 on a later 530, good stuff I reckon.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
DXZeff
Posted 2018-11-07 7:41 PM (#1459 - in reply to #1458)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



Pentium II

Posts: 406
100100100100
Location: Hull, UK
@Brostenen; That case badge looks familiar. Blood doesn't scare me, not in that way, more so it pisses me off because it almost never runs right and something always seems to break down after playing it.

@CyrixInstead; I was literally just pulling the board apart for cleaning when you posted. Here's how it runs that with a K5-75 installed;

Not very much in it. I'm hoping that the RTC will run consistently after cleaning, messing with a pencil eraser when the system was on made it start ticking again so it's either dirt or else components that need reflowing, it can't be the CMOS as it holds parameters correctly. Guess we'll know in a week or so when the board is dry. Apple juice is way more effective than it should be at cleaning that blue fur (copper oxide?) off of things, used it because I had no petrol or vinegar to hand and I'm honestly impressed.

On the subject of undocumented settings, this board has an unlisted 3x multiplier and a couple of clocks that aren't too useful, this does mean 200MHz WinChip CPUs are an option though and it can run with one, nips the toes of a Pentium MMX surprisingly well with that in.

Otherwise this board appears to, indeed, be faster than my near-identical ECS SI55P, the basis of my current K5 and a distant replacement for my original one of these - my first time running a K5 was on the original PCI54ST. The ECS uses the same SiS chipset and scores pretty much 1:1 with a 430VX board, which implies this old bastard is faster than boards on that chipset despite being older. Unfortunately the power circuitry does not like larger processors, so I think moving my K5-166 into here isn't really feasible. It may be possible to find a better regulator and change a resistor or two to make up for this though.

This is what the SI55P looks like in case you wondered, even most of the jumpers are in the same place;


Edited by DXZeff 2018-11-07 7:42 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-11-09 8:40 PM (#1460 - in reply to #1459)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
#DXZeff:
Yup... It is one of your case badges.

As for what I did today. Then I gamed console games on my RetroPIE setup on my living room TV.
Both of my children are visiting this weekend, so we had a blast with SNES and PS1 games for two hours.
I can highly recommend the controller that are sold as "Speedlink Strike NX".
It is really a great piece of hardware. Well build, responsive, with cable and not wireless. Top product.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-11-14 9:47 AM (#1461 - in reply to #1460)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
After a recap some time ago, I thought it would be fun to see how a Lumafix64 will behave in my Commodore64. And it is actually working as intended now. I did not see the big difference before recap, but now... Oh boy.

Then I played some pakman, supercycle, 1942 and great giana sisters. The picture looks 100% brand new, and all details are sharp in the picture. I have set the colour intensity on the lumafix, so it is slightly warmer than the stock C64-c model, and the result is a picture that are somewhat the same as the original breadbin. I can highly say good for a C64 recap and a lumafix64.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
UserH
Posted 2018-11-15 5:41 PM (#1462 - in reply to #1461)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with


Slow 8088

Posts: 5
0
@DXzeff: El SID can be quite a tricky bar steward to nail down.. And the programmable filters and ring modulator you can feed the output of the oscillators through don't help either.. General and Texas Instruments PSGs where a lot more simple affairs indeed.. in comparison.

@Brostenen: That Miggy 500 looks like it's coming along quite nicely.. I just wish some of my old clunkers had been easy fixer up'ers *quickly glances over to the pile of written off machines in the "corner of shame"* urm.. yeah..

Well.. I don't really have anything else to report upon.. I Haven't acquired any new "toys" yet.. I have my eyes set upon some shit on that there Fleabay.. Buuuut that fucking Christmas thing is around the corner.. And the girly fwiend be wanting some of them "present" thingies.. (more blooody money.. *mumble* *grumble*) I'm still pretty much gripped with "Amiga fever" at the moment.. But still can't afford any miggy related hardware.. So I've dusted off my trusty ole late '05 PowerBook to give that MorphOS thingy a go.. AAAaaand so far.. The results have been mostly promising..

If I does everything I want to do with it.. then I'm most certainly going to through some money the developers way for a license .. OH and it runs quite a bit faster than OS X 10.5.. bloody hell.. it's like my ole PowerBook has had a turbo charger crammed up its arse (or... maybe its a leaf blower?).

Edited by UserH 2018-11-15 5:43 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Brostenen
Posted 2018-11-15 11:25 PM (#1463 - in reply to #1462)
Subject: Re: Recently Played/Bought/Messed with



AMD K6-2

Posts: 293
100100252525
UserH - 2018-11-15 7:41 PM
@Brostenen: That Miggy 500 looks like it's coming along quite nicely.. I just wish some of my old clunkers had been easy fixer up'ers *quickly glances over to the pile of written off machines in the "corner of shame"* urm.. yeah..


Thanks.
Well... I have ordered another CPU for that TF-530 Accelerator, as the one that I recieved with the card, is with a rather high profile heatsink. And I have ordered parts, so I can make a Kickstart relocator/extender. I want to use this single chip kickstart switcher that I have, and it is on a PCB, that has some switching circuit. The reason behind this, is that the two kickroms are stored on two different locations, and flipping the contact will make the Amiga look on a different location in the eprom chip. As of now, the top left corner of the eprom is in the way of the CPU relocator PCB. And with a KickRom relocator, then I will be able to move the kickrom and make room for the CPU relocator.

Once my a500 are finished being upgraded, then I will have a machine with the following spec's:

- 68030 and FPU, both running at 50mhz.
- 4,5 MegaByte Ram. (1 Chip, 2 Fast and 1,5 Slow)
- 4 GigaByte internal HDD (CF-Card)
- KickRomSwitcher (1.3 and 3.1 rom)
- ScanPlusECS Scandoubler. (Internal scandoubler, 50hz Refresh rate)

The scandoubler is HIGHLY recommended, though you need a monitor that can sync to 50hz refresh rate. CRT's are like bullitproof, yet LCD/TFT monitors are a bit different. Most can not synch to 50hz, yet those that do, run sublime with the scandoubler. The colour's are spot on and both vertical and horisontal scrolling are 100% identical to that of original Commodore or Philips Amiga monitors. And the price are not bad at all. Just under 100 Euro for a brand new scandoubler.

And the 500 that I am refurbishing, and writing a blog post about. Are fully functional as of now. I need to find a replacement trapdoor lid and finally I need to spray paint the machine. That however, will not be upgraded with any nice stuff. Well... Perhaps I will get another ScanPlusECS scandoubler for that machine. Else it will only have a 512kb Ram upgrade as the only thing. That has gotten a new floppy drive as well. And it has a complete shielding now, plus it has gotten a new red light keyboard and some white keycaps that are less yellowed. Meaning that I now have a complete red-light keyboard in the closet, that I will be saving as a sparepart.

Edited by Brostenen 2018-11-15 11:34 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : < ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 >
Now viewing page 40 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2018 PD9 Software